Casa del Picky Eaters

Goan Beef Curry

IMG_2361

The freezer is full; I’m not sure how it happened. Long and short of the matter is that I need to use up some of the stuff in it before I go buying anything else. The first thing to hand was 750g braising steak, and a vague urge for something chilli-hot. I found the recipe in Floyd’s Great Curries but astonishingly the great man suggests that it would only take half an hour for the beef to become tender. I’m going to put that down to an editing error; braising or stewing steak will always need a good four hours before it can be properly enjoyed. So yes, this does take a long time, but it’s also incredibly easy.

In a large frying pan, soften two finely diced red onions and three chopped green chillies. Add two tablespoons of chopped coriander leaves and two chopped tomatoes which have been skinned and deseeded. When the tomatoes have broken down into mush, add a couple of teaspoons of crushed red dried chillies, a tablespoon of white wine or cider vinegar, a lady’s thumb’s worth of ginger (I like the ready-pulped kind, frozen or from a jar, so as to avoid grating my actual thumb), half a teaspoon each of turmeric and ground cumin, and lots of freshly ground black pepper.

Chuck in 750g of cubed braising steak. Brown the beef and add a cup of water, and then cook covered on the hob for at least four hours, by which time you’ll have a rich and very hot curry. Don’t forget to season. B declared it good enough that it wouldn’t be out of place in an Indian restaurant.

I made a vegetable rice (onions, garlic, ginger, cardamoms, cloves, cinnamon stick, and black onion seeds, fried together, add finely chopped veggies of your choice, and fry some more; finally add cold, cooked rice and a knob of butter and keep stirring until the rice is warmed through) and a simple raita of yoghurt, chopped fresh mint and chilli powder.

Leave a Reply

The Secret Barrister

Independent Blogger of the Year, The Comment Awards 2016

Smoky Joe's Cafe

Recipes, Reviews and Culinary Ramblings

Food Obsessed Sam

Sharing my obsession with food. I'm a bit of a restaurant collector and passionate about food. I'm a busy working mum and eating out is a real treat. I love Michelin starred restaurants. I have had many great experiences which I think are worth sharing…. So take a gander

portlandermiamian

A native Portlander exploring everything my other home has to offer + other travel adventures

Tony Meets Meat

I cook, I eat, I blog.

Little Missed Gluten

A coeliac living in the glorious south east of England...

Mad Dog TV Dinners

Guess what's coming to dinner?

One Man's Meat

Multi-award winning food blog, written in Dublin, Ireland.

Back Road Journal

Little treasures discovered while exploring the back roads of life

mydadslunch

Creative, strange and awesome lunches by my dad

thehungrymanc

I like to eat. I am from Manchester

The Gluten Free Family Kitchen

Family life... the gluten free way

Rantings of an Amateur Chef

Food...cooking...eating....tools - What works, and what doesn't!

Cooking in Sens

Living, Drinking and Eating in Burgundy

The Kitchenaid Diaries

Just another WordPress.com site

Leeds Comedy Cellar

Free comedy in Leeds every Tuesday

glutenfreeinminneapolis

Gluten free in the Minne!

ziaskitchen

Just another WordPress.com site

The Food I Eat

what it says on the tin

wanderingglutenfree

A fine WordPress.com site

fruit is not a pudding

naturally gluten-free dessert inspiration for anyone who's been served one too many fruit salads!

The High Heel Gourmet

Authentic Thai Dishes Reimagined for the American Palate

maggiesonebuttkitchen

Passionate about cooking and baking and love to share.

Milners Blog

Do or do not, There is no try.

Girl Interrupted Eating

Foraging and Feasting. A food blog from Nottingham in the UK

Gluten Free? Gimme Three!

A realist's take on living gluten free

Chilli Marmalade

Adventures inside and outside my kitchen

Gluten Free By The Sea

A coeliac's guide to gluten free life in Plymouth

Naturally Gluten Free

a curated GF collection

gluten free b

fruit is not a pudding

