Casa del Picky Eaters

Olympic Food Day Seven: Czech Republic

Image

The Czech Republic was my own randomised choice. Eastern Europe to me is more about beer than food so I looked for something that involved beer in the recipe, and I didn’t have to look too hard. This is two thirds a traditional Czech Sunday lunch recipe and one third a traditional my family Sunday lunch recipe. Warning: for really good crackling you need a few days to prepare this one.

Czech-style Pork Belly Roast with Sauerkraut and Hawaiian Mash

Pork Belly joint with the skin on (if it’s come rolled, unroll it)

Mustard

Caraway seeds

Garlic powder

Salt and pepper

Sliced onions

Beer (I used the world’s finest gluten free lager, Estrella Daura)

White wine sauerkraut

 Streaky rashers snipped into little bits (you want something less chunky than lardons)

Finely diced onionImage

 More caraway seeds

Water

Cornflour or arrowroot

Equal quantities of diced carrot and swede

Butter

Nutmeg

If you have the time, take the wrapper off the pork belly, score the skin into diamonds and leave it with the skin exposed to the air for at least a day – the more it dries out the better your crackling will be.  Mix the mustard, caraway seeds, garlic powder and seasoning into a paste and smear it all over the pork meat and fat (but not the skin).

When you’re ready to cook, scatter the onions across the bottom of a roasting tin and place the pork on top. Pour in enough beer to half-submerge the meat still keeping the skin dry, and place in a preheated oven at 250°. After 30 minutes, turn the heat down to 180°. Leave it in the oven for at least another hour, adding more beer if required.

Rinse the sauerkraut and leave to drain while you fry the bacon, onion and caraway seeds to lightly brown. Add the drained sauerkraut to this pan and enough water to almost cover. Simmer until the water is about half the quantity, then thicken with cornflour or arrowroot.

For the Hawaiian mash, boil the carrot and swede until soft, then drain. Mash with the butter and nutmeg.

Once the pork is cooked, allow it to rest in a warm place for 15 minutes or so before carving into chunks and serving with the veggies.

I usually like sauerkraut and it is a natural partner for pork; I enjoy it on hotdogs or as part of a choucroute garni. In this case, though, I was pretty underwhelmed. B called it “interesting” which wasn’t a condemnation – he will tell me in no uncertain terms when he’s not enjoying something – but I wouldn’t rush to do it again and I don’t think he’d object to that. The pork, though, was brilliant! And who doesn’t love Hawaiian mash? Well – once you know what it is, I mean. For years I thought it was one of those things like Singapore noodles or London broil which is well known everywhere except in its nominal geographic origin. Then as mashed carrot and swede started to appear everywhere, I discovered that Hawaiian mash was my mother’s mother’s name for it, and that term will draw blank stares from anyone outside my immediate family.

Leave a Reply

The Secret Barrister

Independent Blogger of the Year, The Comment Awards 2016 & 2017

Smoky Joe's Cafe

Recipes, Reviews and Culinary Ramblings

Food Obsessed Sam

Sharing my obsession with food. I'm a bit of a restaurant collector and passionate about food. I'm a busy working mum and eating out is a real treat. I love Michelin starred restaurants. I have had many great experiences which I think are worth sharing…. So take a gander

portlandermiamian

A native Portlander exploring everything my other home has to offer + other travel adventures

Tony Meets Meat

I cook, I eat, I blog.

Little Missed Gluten

A coeliac living in the glorious south east of England...

Mad Dog TV Dinners

Guess what's coming to dinner?

One Man's Meat

Multi-award winning food blog, written in Dublin, Ireland.

Back Road Journal

Little treasures discovered while exploring the back roads of life

mydadslunch

Creative, strange and awesome lunches by my dad

thehungrymanc

I like to eat. I am from Manchester

The Gluten Free Family Kitchen

Family life... the gluten free way

Rantings of an Amateur Chef

Food...cooking...eating....tools - What works, and what doesn't!

Cooking in Sens

Living, Drinking and Eating in Burgundy

The Kitchenaid Diaries

Just another WordPress.com site

Leeds Comedy Cellar

Free comedy in Leeds every Tuesday

glutenfreeinminneapolis

Gluten free in the Minne!

ziaskitchen

Just another WordPress.com site

The Food I Eat

what it says on the tin

wanderingglutenfree

A fine WordPress.com site

fruit is not a pudding

naturally gluten-free dessert inspiration for anyone who's been served one too many fruit salads!

The High Heel Gourmet

Authentic Thai Dishes Reimagined for the American Palate

maggiesonebuttkitchen

Passionate about cooking and baking and love to share.

Milners Blog

Do or do not, There is no try.

Girl Interrupted Eating

Foraging and Feasting. A food blog from Nottingham in the UK

Gluten Free? Gimme Three!

A realist's take on living gluten free

Chilli Marmalade

Adventures inside and outside my kitchen

Gluten Free By The Sea

A coeliac's guide to gluten free life in Plymouth

Naturally Gluten Free

the good GF stuff

gluten free b

fruit is not a pudding

